A Path to the Trail

Only in recent times have I been so focused. This endeavor isn’t the first time that I’ve taken on a goal centered around passion of this level. However, in my academic world, this project will be the first. To backtrack, I’ve spent the last year studying at Prescott College in Prescott, AZ.

During the year prior, the same year after finishing high school, I worked as a summer camp counselor, traveled out of the country, started a blog, worked a smidgen more, and went on a road trip with a close friend. Eventually, college came into the crosshairs.

That year taught me to live with less, to actualize my dreams, and some of it even brought me to my knees. While the process of growing personally has been, and continues to be, the essence of this journey, growing as a scholar and a seeker has shaped my future in drastically more unprecedented ways.

The Pacific Crest Trail is one of the the longest hikes in the contiguous United States and stands as a monumental achievement for the thru-hiking adventure seeker. Along with the the Appalachian Trail and the Continental Divide Trail, the PCT runs over 2,000 miles.

Unlike its east coast counterpart, the AT, the PCT cuts across the country from boarder to boarder, Mexico to Canada, for 2,650 miles of rugged western wilderness. For those who suffer through to the end, the trail demands months of walking, thousands of dollars, and substantial preparation.

Hiking a long trail has been one of my lifelong aspirations, albeit the idea of a thru-hike has always been decidedly unattainable.

As a student at Prescott College, attendees have the option to create Independent Studies, courses that the student writes and designs independently from the college catalog.

On my own initiative, after a year of emotional stagnation around my college career and future missions, I’m turning my hiking into a class. During the spring of 2018, I will officially begin executing Backcountry Trip Planning & Logistics. Each aspect of planning to hike on the PCT will be molded to fit the world of academia. Upon completion, I will be receiving college credit for the work and hopefully begin the trek from Campo to Manning Park. Now the journey begins. This is my path to the trail.

Following is the official course description for the class:

Backcountry Trip Planning & Logistics
This course introduces the necessary framework for planning and executing a long distance thru-hike. Topics include: meal planning, expense budgeting, map navigation, risk management, backcountry travel logistics & route planning, gear planning, developing personal systems, physical health and conditioning, and mental preparation. Students will base their course on existing thru-hiking routes such as the Pacific Crest Trail or the Appalachian Trail. In order to plan effectively, students are expected to integrate the coursework into their lifestyle and will explore course topics through various mediums including reading written texts, essay writing, evaluating personal living systems, implementing physical conditioning plans, and extensive itinerary building. An emphasis will be placed on students actualizing their plans and requires rigorous self-direction and commitment. Upon completion of this course, students will be prepared to safely execute their thru-hikes.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close